Wear of Insignia and Accouterments

Branch insignia—authority for

a. General officers.
(1) The Chief of Staff, former Chiefs of Staff, and generals of the Army (five star) may prescribe their branch insignia.
(2) All other general officers may wear branch insignia at their option. If they choose this option, general officers will wear the branch insignia for the position to which they are appointed, or for their duty assignment.
b. Other. All other commissioned and warrant officers serving on active duty will wear the insignia of their basic branch. When detailed to other branches, commissioned and warrant officers will wear the insignia of the branch to which they are detailed.
c. General staff. Warrant officers, and commissioned officers, other than general officers, will wear the general staff branch insignia as indicated below.
(1) When assigned to positions within the Office of the Secretary of the Army, the Under Secretary of the Army, or the Assistant Secretary of the Army, and when authorized by the Secretary of the Army to wear such insignia during their assignment in these offices.
(2) When detailed to duty on the Army General Staff (see AR 614–100).
(3) When detailed for general staff duty with troops (see AR 614–100).
(4) As directed by the Chief of Staff.
(5) When assigned to departmental or statutory tour table of distribution and allowance (TDA) positions in the
National Guard Bureau.
(6) When assigned to the Army National Guard Command chief warrant officer positions within the office of the
Adjutant General of each state, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, or the District of Columbia.
d. The Inspector General branch insignia is worn by the inspector general and those officers detailed as inspectors
general, under the provisions of AR 614–100.
e. National Guard Bureau branch insignia is worn by those officers detailed to the National Guard Bureau for 180
days or longer, U.S. Property and Fiscal Office officers, and other Army National Guard (ARNG) tour officers, as prescribed by Chief, National Guard Bureau.
f. Officers assigned to the ARNG and the U.S. Army Reserve (USAR), and who are not on extended active duty, wear staff specialist branch insignia (see NGR 600–102 (ARNG) or AR 140–10).
g. Civil affairs (CA) reserve officers wear USAR branch insignia as follows:
(1) When assigned or detailed to the CA branch in accordance with AR 140–10, while serving in an inactive duty or active duty for training status.
(2) When assigned to a CA-USAR troop program unit that has mobilized.
(3) When serving on extended active duty with CA troop program units.
(4) When assigned to CA mobilization designation positions upon mobilization.
(5) Officers will wear the insignia of the branch in which they are detailed, unless they are on extended active duty
with other than CA units.
h. Judge Advocate General’s Corps officers detailed to the Judge Advocate General’s Corps (JAGC), who are not
yet admitted to practice law before a Federal court or the highest court of a state, will wear their basic branch insignia. They may wear JAGC insignia after they are admitted to practice.
i. Enlisted personnel. All enlisted personnel will wear the branch insignia of their PMOS, with the following exceptions.
(1) Basic trainees will wear the U.S. insignia on both collars; they will not wear branch insignia (see para 28–4b(2)(c)).
(2) Noncommissioned officers in authorized Inspector General MTOE or TDA positions will wear the Inspector General insignia.
(3) Command sergeants major will wear command sergeant major collar insignia in lieu of branch insignia. (4) The Sergeant Major of the Army (SMA) will wear SMA insignia in lieu of branch insignia.